Captain Vijay Kumar Sharma

    Captain Vijay Kumar Sharma

    Honorary Captain Vijay Kumar Sharma was born on 19 August 1985 at Barsar Hamirpur Himachal Pradesh. Vijay Kumar Sharma is an Indian sports shooter. Vijay Kumar is a retired Subedar Major in the 16th Battalion of the Dogra Regiment of the Indian Army. And later he was promoted to the rank of Honorary Captain. He won a silver medal in the individual 25 m rapid-fire pistol event at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London. Vijay is the only Indian to win a medal in the 25m rapid-fire pistol. He is posted at Mhow, a shooting unit of the Indian Army since 2003, where he is being trained by Russian Pavel Smirnov.

    Captain Vijay Kumar Sharma Early Life

    Vijay Kumar’s father, Banku Ram, was a retired Subedar of the Indian Army. And his mother’s name was Roshni Devi. Vijay Kumar is married to Priyanka Sharma. Priyanka Sharma is a school teacher. Kumar was interested in guns since childhood. Vijay joined the Indian Army in 2001 as a sepoy. He developed his interest in shooting after joining the Indian Army. Kumar joined the Army Marksmanship Unit in Mhow in 2003. And appointed them directly up to Havaldar in 2006. Kumar won two gold medals at the 2006 Commonwealth Games. And in 2006, he won the bronze medal in the Asian Games. And on 20 April 2006, he was promoted as Naib Subedar.

    Shooting Career

    Vijay started his shooting career after joining the army. He won two gold medals in the 2006 Commonwealth Games. Won bronze medal in Shia Games in 2006. Was second in the 2007 Asian Championships and won a silver medal in a rapid-fire pistol at the 2009 ISSF World Cup in Beijing. Major Sharma works towards promoting budding athletes. Direct entry as Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) is offered by the State Government of Himachal Pradesh. Vijay Kumar retired from the army in 2017 after serving 15 years in the Indian Army.

    Vijay Kumar Sharma was awarded the Arjuna Award in 2007. Rajiv Gandhi was awarded the Khel Ratna in 2012. And was awarded the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal in 2013. Was awarded the Padma Shri award in 2013. In addition, ₹1 crore cash award has been received by the Himachal Pradesh government. And ₹ 50 lacks has been received by the Government of Rajasthan.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here